top of page

What is a balanced diet?

According to Ayurveda, all foods can be divided into six fundamental categories according to taste: Sweet, sour, salty, pungent, bitter, astringent. Each taste contains nutritional factors that the body needs for proper functioning. Ayurveda recommends that our diets include all six tastes. Ideally, lunch and dinner would both contain all six tastes.

Imbalance in the diet can be a major source of imbalance in the body. Each type of food has a different effect on Vata, Pitta and Kapha, as well as digestion, metabolism and tissue development. As a result, diets in which for months or years only certain food groups and tastes are predominant, can lead to significant imbalances in the physiology.

When the diet does not contain all six tastes, it can lead to experiences such as still feeling hungry after finishing a large meal, feeling weak and tired in the late afternoon, or developing cravings for certain foods.

Vegetable Basket

How we digest and assimilate our food is just as important as what we eat. If digestion is disturbed, even the best diet will not provide proper nutrition.

Take a modern Ayurveda cooking class

Ayurvedic Cooking and Nutrition emphasizes ideal food combining, and explains why certain foods are incompatible. Applying this knowledge can immediately bring about changes in your health and wellbeing.

You will learn exactly how to use herbs and spices in your cooking to derive all the health benefits from them as well as all other foods prepared.

You will become a home healer,able to improve the health of yourself, family members and friends.

Book a private cooking class, join one of the monthly workshops or hire me as your personal chef for an event or party.

bottom of page